Easiest Garlic Scape Recipe

Garlic Scapes

I have, of course heard of garlic scapes. I also actually knew they were the top growths of the garlic plant. What I didn’t know was the scape has to be cut from the plant so nutrients and growth is redirected to the bulb. I also didn’t have a clue what to do with this vegetation that keeps popping up each spring in the local farmers markets.

The consummate gardener, of Dish ‘N’ That fame, stashed some of these little beauties to share with me. She mentioned the crazy idea of making pesto with the scapes. “Pesto? How? What do you mean.?”, I stammered. She shared the link to a blog she had recently visited, Cake Punk. That, paired with my almost desperate need to make something to share with friends last Saturday night, inspired me to peek.

There were only four ingredients: scapes, cashews, capers and olive oil. Wow! Was this ever easy and delicious – and even more fantastic the next day. This has proven to be delicious on crostini, on sandwiches, on top of a steak and tossed with hot pasta. Now I am on the lookout for more scapes. I really want to see if it will freeze – I’ll let you know on that one.

Garlic Scape Pesto

10 garlic scapes

1/3 cup cashews (I used roasted and salted from the pantry which made seasoning almost unnecessary)

1 Tbs Capers

1/3 cup olive oil, more or less

Kosher or sea salt to taste

Rinse and roughly chop the scapes into smaller pieces to help the process along. Place them in the bowl of a food processor along with the cashews, capers and half of the olive oil.

Scapes, cashews and capers ready to process.

Pulse a few times to puree. With the processor running, slowly stream the remaining oil to the puree until you have reached a smooth texture. I actually stopped a bit before “smooth” for a slightly more rustic look. Season to taste.

Garlic Scape Pesto

Don’t adjust your picture. I need a new camera and some classes. I promise to improve.

Enjoy ~ This is a wonderfully versatile dish and truly one to enjoy now as their availability will soon be a distant memory.

Comments
4 Responses to “Easiest Garlic Scape Recipe”
  1. This recipe looks amazing! I can’t wait to try it!

  2. Camila says:

    Ooo- this looks delicious! I’ve never heard of garlic scapes before, but what an innovative way to use them. The pictures in particular make me want to try the recipe (or at least the pesto) that much more.

Leave a Reply

  • In the Kitchen With Theresa

