Cranberry-Walnut Pumpkin Loaves – Baking with Julia

What was I thinking when I signed up to participate in a baking blog when I KNOW I don’t turn the oven on in the summer unless I am being paid to.

Oh yes, I signed up because I adore the book “Baking with Julie”, by Dorie Greenspan. And I REALLY do love baking. So, I am passed the whining and back in the kitchen.

These little loaves were tricky to make, at least the way the recipe was written. So here are some tips to create the delicious, fruit and nut studded loaves for yourself or for friends.

I broke my own cardinal rule this recipe – always read the recipe before starting. I didn’t realize the dough needed to be proofed overnight or that it called for FRESH cranberries NOR that is called for an obscure size of baking pans: 5¾ x 3 ¼ x 2.

I have almost every size  baking pan known to man and finally tracked these down.

The dough was a bit much for the these three little pans and in hindsight, would have divided perfectly into the 7 ¾ x 3 ¼ x 2 pans I had originally pulled.  I contemplated making one large loaf but the small pans made the cutest canape sized slices.

While gathering your mise en place, toast your walnuts so they have a chance to cool before you need them.

During the kneading time, you will be soooo tempted add more flour. You will swear it is too sticky. Well, you can add a tablespoon or two, but be careful not to add too much or your dough will be too stiff during the final shaping.

Here is what diligence looks like.

This recipe can be found on page 108 and 109 of the book (I am sure you have purchased it by now). Or you can find it at Rebecca’s blog. She is hosting the recipe here.

Comments
2 Responses to “Cranberry-Walnut Pumpkin Loaves – Baking with Julia”
  1. Cathleen says:

    Lovely photos. Your bread looks fabulous!

  2. Cathleen, I love the collage photos on your site. I also agree that I was hoping for more pumpkin flavor. Do the numbers on your posts correlate with a master list of your books? Or have you actually cooked/baked through THAT many cookbooks???

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

